top of page
Home: Welcome
Home: Blog2

My Best Friend During Quarantine

Updated: May 29, 2020

I am a HUGE fan of oaky, buttery, creamy white wine. If you have ever met me and don't know that, well, there is no way we met. My absolute favorite used to be Mer Soleil Santa Lucia Highlights Chardonnay (a brand from Caymus). It was a bit of a splurge, but 100% worth it. I noticed recently that it wasn't tasting the same, and thought maybe I had a bad bottle. But, after 4 or 5 that just didn't hit home for me like it had in the past, I decided to break up with Mer Soleil. (P.S. - I found out later that they changed the recipe!!!).


But then came Poppy. It's from the same Appellation in Monterey, meaning it grows in a similar environment so will encompass a lot of the same characteristics as the Mer Soleil. It has been my absolute saving grace during quarantine. I've found that it pairs well with itself :), a creamy vegan alfredo sauce, or a fresh salad. Open it about a half hour before drinking, so it can breathe. The creaminess really comes to life if it has some time to open up. Where to find it? If you're in Boston, call Social Wines in Southie. They are delivering for free during lockdown, and always have this in stock. I order it by the case (just saying). Happy wine-ing!

10 views0 comments
bottom of page