top of page
Home: Welcome
Home: Blog2

Lettuce Celebrate Veggies: Top 10 Recipes!

I am NOT a recipe creator. And, to be honest, I really never want to be! I love to cook, I love to follow directions - and I love to experiment with different cuisines. But, I don't have the creative mind, or the patience, to recipe test! I am SO thankful for those that do - it's hard work, and I love following my favorite bloggers and seeing what their latest creations are. I like to spend my time scouring Pinterest, Instagram, and the Internet, to see what I can try next. Here are my favorite, tried and true, recipes - that I make over, and over, and over again!


Favorite Chinese: Who doesn't love Chinese food? I do. But it's greasy, the portions are enormous, and I always feel so bloated when I'm done. While Chinese food meals aren't always the easiest to make (I've found they're usually more labor intensive than others) - they can be fun to whip up. You can make a night out of it, and cook a few of your favorite dishes! My favorite are these Vegan Potstickers. They're easy to make, but they take some time. However, they're well worth the wait (even for non-vegans!). Pair it with this Cauliflower Fried Rice to round out the theme - just omit the egg or use JUSTEgg.



Favorite Italian: Pizza. Duh. I could eat pizza every night. But the real, authentic Italian-style pizza - not a Domino's style, greasy pie. I get homemade dough from Bova's Bakery in the North End and sauce from Monica's Mercato next door. If you don't live in Boston, Whole Foods has a really good homemade dough, and sauce, that you can get. I like to use Trader Joe's Cashew Fiesta Dip for the cheese, or their Cashew Mozzarella Shreds.


The key to a delicious pizza? A pizza stone! I highly recommend investing in one of these, if you haven't already. It makes SUCH a big difference in the end result!


Favorite Mexican: I love love love these Buffalo Cauliflower and Quinoa Tacos. Maybe not the most Mexican meal? But it's in a taco, so it's Mexican to me. I haven't made this recipe since getting my Air Fryer, but I will absolutely be "frying" the Cauliflower and the Chickpeas the next time this is on the dinner menu! If you don't have an Air Fryer, not to fret - these are great roasted too!


Favorite Mac N' Cheese: Who doesn't love a big, creamy bowl of Mac and Cheese? For those of us choosing to omit dairy - fear not! There are SO many options out there - whether you want to make a homemade cheese sauce, or buy cheese from the store, you can make it happen - and make it taste pretty darn close to the real thing (if not better!!). My favorite Mac and Cheese recipe is this Vegan Jalapeño Popper Mac and Cheese from Nora Cooks Vegan. She has a lot of great recipes on her site. It's all of my favorite things blended into one: cheese, pasta, and spice! It makes a big batch, so it's perfect if you have company and are looking to WOW some of your non-vegan guests :).


Favorite Soup: Hands down, my favorite soup is this Detox Crockpot Lentil Soup from Pinch of Yum. I've made it at least 10-15 times. Summer, winter - whatever season, this soup has you feeling your best self. It's full of good for you ingredients like lentils, split peas, butternut squash, kale, and much more. The best part - it's simple to prep your ingredients, and then you just throw it in the crockpot and walk away!


Favorite Breakfast: Overnight Oats. Lame, I know, but I could truly eat these every morning (and I almost do!). The key to making them extra delicious is using frozen fruit. When the fruit defrosts, it let's out all these juices that really flavor the oats. I use Quaker Oats, Vanilla Oatmilk, any frozen fruit I have, and maple syrup. Make them the night before, and you have a delicious breakfast waiting for you in the morning!




Favorite Burger (s): I used to make Veggie Burgers from scratch frequently, years ago. Honestly, I spare myself the time now and buy them, since there are more and more delicious plant-based options at the grocery store right in the freezer aisle! While not the healthiest option (but still healthier than a real burger!), I absolutely love the burgers from Beyond Meat & Impossible Foods. They truly taste, and cook, like the real deal. I usually pile on the toppings: plant-based cheese, jalapeños, hot sauce, ketchup, mustard, lettuce, tomato, avocado...whatever I can find.


If you want a healthier freeze aisle choice - Dr. Praeger's is a great choice. The first 3 ingredients are carrots, onion, and string beans. You know you're off to a great start when the first ingredients in a freezer meal are REAL and actually good for you!!


If you're still itching to make your own, try these Buffalo Quinoa Burgers. You can sub in a flax egg where it calls for a regular egg. These are relatively easy to make and have a nice kick to them thanks to the hot sauce.



Favorite Dessert: It's scary how good these 4-Ingredient Samoas are (I call them Caramel Delite's). They bring me back to my good ol' days as a Girl Scout. They truly taste like the real thing, and require NO baking. The best part? You can say Adios to the dessert guilt - no sugar or butter required for these delicious treats!




Favorite Chili: I absolutely love chili in the winter, and eating Vegan can't stop me! There are so many delicious recipes out there, like this Three Alarm Vegetarian Quinoa Chili. Easily made Vegan by tweaking the toppings. I also love Trader Joe's Harvest Chili, pictured here. Drizzled with their Cashew Fiesta dip, of course!



Favorite Sauce: Who doesn't love a good Vodka Sauce? I honestly never really looked at making this, since I always gave it an unhealthy connotation. Until I saw this recipe! You can, of course, smother this all over your pasta of choice, or if you want a lower carb option, try zoodles or spaghetti squash. It comes together quickly and is perfect for a weeknight meal, or a Saturday date night!



14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page