top of page
Home: Welcome
Home: Blog2

BBQ "Pulled Pork" Sandwiches

Who doesn't love a sandwich dripping with BBQ sauce, a meaty filling, and a crunchy slaw on top?! I do 🙋‍♀️. There are a few ways I've seen vegan "Pulled Pork" sandwiches made - with jackfruit, or with Hearts of Palm. Both are relatively flavorless so really take on whatever spices or sauce you use. I chose Hearts of Palm for this dinner - if you haven't had them, they are a canned vegetable that is harvested from the inner core of a palm tree. You can usually find them next to the canned artichokes at the supermarket. They look, and "peel" just like a mozzarella stick, which is why they replicate pulled pork so well!


I didn't follow a recipe for this one, I simply peeled the Hearts of Palm and threw them in a skillet with BBQ sauce until warm. I made a "slaw" with thinly sliced cabbage, peppers, and carrots, and put it all on a hamburger bun! Easy as that. You can definitely find a more sophisticated recipe (such as one's that have homemade BBQ sauce) and probably some more flavor add on's, but I was looking for something quick and simple.


Enjoy!!



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page